Misfitopia
Sign in to follow this  
monogodo

Job Changes

monogodo    9

As you may or may not know, I work in the printing industry. Specifically, I run the in-house copy center at the corporate headquarters of a luxury retailer, the Nameless Merchant, located in Downtown Dallas. I don't work for the Nameless Merchant, but rather a printing company that has contracted with them for the services.

As you may also know, print is dying. I don't believe it'll completely go away, but there's no disputing the path it's currently on. We used to do $50k-$75k per month in sales. A bad month was $30k. In November, we did less than $3k. The main reason for this reduction in print volume is that the Nameless Merchant issued iPads to all of their sales departments, and every sales staff member has a company-issued iPhone. They no longer print their Look Books - they publish them to an app that their staff has on their devices. It makes total sense, and I'm surprised it took so long for them to do it. That being said, they are happy with us being here, as they do have a need for us.

Except their lease on the building next door, which houses a cafe and their Visual offices, was not renewed. They're moving the cafe into the main store. The Visual offices are taking over our space. They have no place else to put the Copy Center, so I've got to go off-site. My bosses looked at our needs in our stores, as well as the various stores' proximity to the Nameless Merchant, and decided to move me, and almost my entire shop, into our Greenville Ave location.

My first day at my new location is May 18. My equipment will follow on May 26. The reasons for this are that the manager of the store I'm moving to is on vacation from May 23-27, and I'm on vacation from May 31-June 3, and she wants to work with me a couple of days before the move, so that we both understand what is expected of each other.